Proposed Minutes

January 13, 2025

The Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education held an organizational meeting on Monday, January 13, 2025 in the Newaygo High School Library. Mr. Ben Gilpin, Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

MEMBERS PRESENT: Vince Grodus, Sara Smith, Bruce Gracik, Reid Sherwood, Jami

Schultz, Tom Frisbie and Mary Spicer

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

Also Present: Ben Gilpin, Superintendent

Kim Bidwell, Business Manger

Christina Wetherell, Administrative Assistant

Gena Dietz, NHS Principal John Bull, NHS Asst. Principal Jim Smith, Middle School Principal Kyle McAlister, NMS Asst. Principal Andy Cox, Elementary Principal Allison Hug, NES Asst. Principal

Visitors: 8

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Mr. Grodus, seconded by Mr. Frisbie, to approve the suggested agenda for the organizational meeting of January 13, 2025.

VOTE Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Public Comment

None.

Election of Officers

Motion by Ms. Smith, seconded by Mr. Grodus, to keep all officers the same for the 2025 calendar year as follows:

Board President: Vince Grodus

Board Vice President: Reid Sherwood

Board Treasurer: Tom Frisbie Board Secretary: Jami Schultz

VOTE Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Mr. Vince Grodus declared President of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2025 calendar year.

Mr. Reid Sherwood declared Vice-President of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2025 calendar year.

Mr. Tom Frisbie declared Treasurer of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2025 calendar year.

Ms. Jami Schultz declared Secretary of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2025 calendar year.

Superintendent Gilpin turned the gavel over to Mr. Grodus.

Other Board of Education Matters/Concerns/Comments

None

Public Comments

None

Adjournment

Motion by Mr. Sherwood, seconded by Ms. Smith, to adjourn the meeting.

VOTE Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried Time: 6:04 p.m.

Jami Schultz, Board Secretary