October 21, 2024

The Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education held a regular meeting on Monday, October 21, 2024 in the Newaygo High School Library. Vince Grodus, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Vince Grodus, Reid Sherwood, Jami Schultz, Sara Smith, Jake Miedema, Bruce Gracik and Thomas Frisbie

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

Also Present: Ben Gilpin, Superintendent

Christina Wetherell, Administrative Assistant

Gena Dietz, High School Principal Jim Smith, Middle School Principal

Kyle McAlister, Middle School Asst. Principal Andy Cox, Elementary School Principal Allison Hug, Elementary School Asst. Principal

Visitors: 28

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Mr. Gracik, to approve the proposed agenda for the regular meeting of October 21, 2024.

VOTE Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Consent Agenda Items

- A. Approval of Minutes
 - 1. September 16, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes
 - 2. October 17, 2024 Special Meeting Minutes
- B. Monthly Trial Balances
- C. Accounts Payable Listing

Motion by Mr. Sherwood, seconded by Mr. Miedema, to approve the consent agenda items as presented.

VOTE Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Public Comments - Items on the Agenda

None

Presentations from the Floor

Mr. Andy Cox, Elementary Principal, updated the Board on the new curriculums taking place at NES. Mrs. Melissa Hreha gave the Board a presentation on her work as the Literacy Coach at NES.

Superintendent Reports

Personnel – Resignations

The Board was notified of the following resignations:

Jen Grugett – 8th Grade Basketball Coach

Personnel – Recommendations to Hire

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Mr. Sherwood, to hire the following individuals, as recommended by the administration.

- 1. Whitney Scarbrough Elementary Aide
- 2. Latasha Hathaway Elementary Aide
- 3. Jeff Benson Elementary Aide
- 4. Jennafer Bridenstine Elementary Aide
- 5. John Perkins Middle School Aide
- 6. Taylor Byrnes Middle School Aide
- 7. Jeff Bauer Middle School Basketball Coach
- 8. Kathy Rinzema Cook
- 9. Kamille Massey College & Career Advisor

VOTE

Ayes: 7

Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Informational Items

1. Finance and Budget Update:

Mrs. Kim Bidwell, Business Manager, gave the Board an update on the finances of the district.

Administrative Matters

For Action:

1. Fall NEOLA Policy Updates

Motion by Mrs. Schultz, seconded by Ms. Smith, to approve the Fall NEOLA Policy Updates, as presented.

VOTE

Ayes: 7

Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

2. Summer Tax Levy Resolution

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Mr. Sherwood, to approve the resolution to confirm renewals of summer tax collection agreements, as presented and recommended by the Administration.

VOTE

Ayes: 7

Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

3. Speak Up 8th Grade Trip

Motion by Ms. Smith, seconded by Mr. Sherwood, to approve the Speak Up 8th Grade Trip, as presented.

VOTE

Ayes: 7

Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

4. School Bus Purchase

Motion by Mr. Sherwood, seconded by Mrs. Schultz, to approve the purchase of two school busses from Midwest Transit, as presented.

VOTE Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

5. Reinstatement of Student 043A

Motion by Mr. Gracik, seconded by Ms. Smith, to reinstate Student 043A to Newaygo Public Schools with the conditions set forth in the Reinstatement Contract presented.

ROLL CALL VOTE

Mr. Grodus, Aye; Mr. Sherwood, Aye; Mr. Gracik, Aye; Mr. Miedema, Aye; Mrs. Schultz, Aye; Ms. Smith, Aye; Mr. Frisbie, Aye.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Public Comments – Items Not on the Agenda

Two staff members addressed the Board. Topics included: Donkey Basketball information and thoughts on the new Capturing Kids Hearts program.

Closed Session - Attorney Consultation

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Mr. Miedema, to move into closed session under MCL 15.268e to consult with legal counsel on the case Lemson v. Newaygo Public Schools.

ROLL CALL VOTE

Mr. Grodus, Aye; Mr. Sherwood, Aye; Mr. Gracik, Aye; Mr. Miedema, Aye; Mrs. Schultz, Aye; Ms. Smith, Aye; Mr. Frisbie, Aye.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried Time: 6:36pm

Return to Open Session

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Mr. Sherwood, to return to open session.

ROLL CALL VOTE

Mr. Grodus, Aye; Mr. Sherwood, Aye; Mr. Gracik, Aye; Mr. Miedema, Aye; Mrs. Schultz, Aye; Ms. Smith, Aye; Mr. Frisbie, Aye.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried Time: 7:31pm

Adjournment

Motion by Mr. Sherwood, seconded by Mr. Frisbie, to adjourn the meeting.

VOTE Ayes: 7 Navs: 0

Motion: Carried Time: 7:33p.m.

Jami Schultz, Board Secretary